Located in:
- Employment and Training Programs Under the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (Programs Authorized Under Section 6(d)(4) of the Food and Nutrition Act of 2008 (7 U.S.C. 2015(d)(4)))
- a. General Requirements [27]
The State agency must prepare and submit an Employment and Training (E&T) Plan to its appropriate Food and Nutrition Service (FNS) Regional Office. The E&T Plan must be available for public inspection at the State agency headquarters. A State agency may include its plan for the SNAP E&T program in a Combined Plan under WIOA but will require FNS approval prior to implementation and must continue to make a copy of the plan available for public inspection. If a State includes SNAP E&T in a Combined Plan under WIOA, the State agency will detail the following for each year covered by the Combined Plan:
[27] 7 CFR § 273.7(c)(6)
- a. General Requirements [27]
a. 4. The categories and types of individuals the State agency intends to exempt from E&T participation, the estimated percentage of work registrants the State agency plans to exempt, and the frequency with which the State agency plans to reevaluate the validity of its exemptions;
Current Narrative:
Louisiana operates a voluntary SNAP E&T program. The following persons are exempt from work registration requirements:
- Persons under age 16 or age 60 or older. An individual is subject to the work registration requirement beginning the month after his 16th birthday. An individual becomes exempt from the work registration requirement effective the month of his 60th birthday.
- Persons aged 16 or 17 who are not the head of the household or person 16 or 17 attending school or enrolled in an employment-training program on at least a half-time basis.
- Persons aged 18 through 59 enrolled at least half-time in any recognized school (including high school), training program, or institution of higher education. Students enrolled at least half-time in an institution of higher education must meet the student eligibility requirements to meet this exemption. A student will remain exempt during normal periods of class attendance, vacation, and recess if he intends to return.
- Parents or other household members personally providing the care of a dependent child under age 6 or an incapacitated person of any age. Verify that the person is needed to care for the incapacitated person.
- Regular participants in drug or alcohol treatment and rehabilitation programs.
- Persons who are temporarily or permanently disabled (physically or mentally). A pregnant woman must register unless a doctor’s statement verifies incapacity.
- Persons working an average of 30 hours per week or receiving average weekly gross earnings equivalent to 30 multiplied by the federal minimum wage. Migrant and seasonal farm workers under contract or similar agreement with an employer or crew chief to begin work within 30 days are exempt.
- Persons subject to and complying with STEP.
- Persons receiving unemployment compensation benefits (UCB). A person who has applied for but is not yet receiving UCB is also exempt if that person is complying with the work requirements of the Louisiana Workforce Commission.
The percentage the state intends to exempt from E&T participation is 100%. These exemptions will be re-evaluated on at least an annual basis.