U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Https

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Plan: Maine PYs 2016-2017
Unified Plan U

Section: Adult, Dislocated Worker, and Youth Activities

Narrative: c. 5.

Published
Located in:

c. 5. Include the State Definition, as Defined in Law, for Not Attending School and Attending School as Specified in WIOA Section 129(a)(1)(b)(i) and Section 129(a)(1)(c)(i). if State Law Does Not Define “not Attending School” or “attending School” Indicate That is the Case.

Current Narrative:

The Maine Department of Education does not have a definition entitled: not attending or attending school; however, under State Statute Title 20–A, Part 3, Chapter 211, Subchapter 1, Section 5001–A compulsory attendance is defined as: “Attendance at school shall be required of person in the State as follows: 1. Requirement – Persons 7 years of age or older and persons under 17 years of age shall attend a public day school during the time it is in regular session. 2. Exceptions– Attendance at school shall not be required of the following: A. A person who graduates from high school before that person’s 17th birthday; B. A person who has: 1. Reached the age of 15 years or completed the 9th grade; 2. Permission to leave school from that person’s parent; 3. Been approved by the principal for a suitable program of work and study or training; 4. Permission to leave school from the school board or its designee; and 5. Agreed in writing with that person’s parent and the school board or its designee to meet annually until that person’s 17th birthday to review that person’s educa–tional needs. When the request to be excused from school has been denied pur–suant to this paragraph, the student’s parent may appeal to the commissioner. C. [2003, c. 688, Pt. H, §3, (AFF); 2003, c. 688, Pt. H, §2 (RP).] D. A person who has matriculated and is attending an accredited, post–secondary degree–granting institution as a full–time student. An exception to attendance in public school under this paragraph must be approved by the commissioner; or E. A person enrolled in an online learning program or course. The State does not have a specific definition of “Basic Skills Deficient” and defers to the definition provided under WIOA.